Vegan Caliente

two vegans, one kitchen

Eccentric Hummus May 15, 2008

Filed under: Recipes — Kala @ 7:29 pm

 

Or maybe Weirdo Hummus is a better name, I don’t know.  Anywho, I was starving like crazy and needed a quick snack before dinner (the boy is making bbq tempeh sammies, yum!) so hummus came to the rescue yet again.  Oh hummus, what can’t you do?  Being in an adventurous mood, I decided to play around with my standard recipe.  My first change was to add in a can of soybeans that have been sitting in the pantry for a while.  Straight out of the can, I can’t say I was impressed with the soybeans, and I usually love beans right out of the can.  But with everything else, they worked out nicely.  All in all, the hummus was tasty although it took a few bites for it to really grow on me. 

 

 

Eccentric Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can soybeans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced (I would have used more but this is all we had)
  • 2 TB lemon juice
  • 2 TB tahini
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • handful of raw spinach
  • big pinch of salt
  • 3 TB chili garlic sauce like Sambal Olek

Instructions:

  1. Throw everything into a food processor and process until smooth.  You may have to add in some water, depending on how thick and chunky you like your hummus.
  2. Serve with tasty papadums!

 -Kala