Vegan Caliente

two vegans, one kitchen

The perfect dog August 5, 2012

Filed under: Food Talk,Reviews — veganshane @ 7:49 am

image

So in many years of being vegan, the perfect vegan frankfurter has been some what elusive. Sure there were some good enough ones: Smart Dogs and Tofu Pups, but both left something to be desired, they duplicated the bargain basement version of hot dogs very well, but not that perfect dog.

Field Roast has finally perfected the vegan frank. Field Roast’s dogs have the right amount of snap and smokiness that captures at least what i remember high-end hotdogs to taste like. Add some good mustard and a little onion relish or sauerkraut and you are good to go.

Oh and they are six franks to a pack so no leftover bun dilemmas.

–Shane

 

3 Responses to “The perfect dog”

  1. I’ve tried both Smart Dogs & Tofu pups and I have to say the pups have been my fave so far. I’m looking forward to picking up a pack of these next time I’m in the US.

  2. I just assume any fake processed meat substitute is just going to be yucky! I have fallen in love with seitan, thought.

  3. welcome Says:

    Good site you have here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.
    I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!


Leave a comment