Vegan Caliente

two vegans, one kitchen

Hemp Shake – of doom and sorrow June 21, 2008

Filed under: Reviews — Kala @ 11:33 am

 

I don’t even know how to start this post.  You know how you bring home something new from the store with all sorts of hopes and dreams of yummy delight and then you try it and it tastes like a potting soil smoothie?  Yeah, that about sums it up.  The terror in question is the Organic Chocolate Hemp Shake from Nutiva.  The instructions say you can just mix it with some soymilk, but when I did that it was still a chalky gritty mess so I went to the blender and added in a frozen banana, which it also suggests.  

 

 

The taste is bad, but the texture is even worse, it’s like gritty gel, bleh!  I can’t say it’s the worse thing I’ve ever tried, but it’s definately up there in the top 10 and I definately won’t be trying the other flavors.  I’m so glad I only bought a single serving packet!

-Kala

 

One Response to “Hemp Shake – of doom and sorrow”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Yucky. Hemp?? Are there certain nutritional values with hemp for vegans I’m not aware of? Hemp? I’m knitting with hemp 🙂


Leave a Reply

